Unable to get 3.3V on Proto Board

rathodmanoj

• View Profile
Hi,
I am new to tinyduino and have recently purchased TinyDuino Processor Board (with Battery Holder), TinyShield USB & ICP and Proto Board 1.

I have stacked up the Processor Board + USB Shield + Proto board and connected the micro USB from computer. My blink  program compiled and executed correctly.

I extracted wires from the Proto Board 1 to connect another device (nRF24L01+) which operates on 3.3v supply. Although, I am unable to get the supply 3.3v on the proto board due to which I am unable to test nRF24L01+ any further. I then removed the micro USB and connected a CR1632 battery. Though still not able to get 3.3v to nRF24L01+.

Is there something I am missing?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Regards,
Manoj.

TinyCircuits

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • TinyCircuits Homepage
Hi Manoj,

Sorry for the confusion - the 3.3V rail is there for legacy support and not directly generated from the TinyDuino board.  Instead, Vcc is the main power rail that you can use to power external devices, this is automatically selected between the +5V rail (such as when the USB is present), or VBatt when that is present.  If you are running a coin cell, we'd recommend powering the other device using the Vcc or Vbatt pin.  Note: If you are powering off the Vcc pin, if you plug in USB this pin will go up to 5V, so this may be an issue based on what you are connecting to.  If so, just stick with using Vbatt.

Regards,

Ken
TinyCircuits

rathodmanoj

• View Profile
Hi Ken,
Many Thanks for the clarification.

It is now clear to me on the usage of these rails. And thanks for suggesting using VBatt. I will use it for connecting nRF24L01+.

Best Regards,
Manoj Rathod.

heliboy

• View Profile