Bluetooth low energy shield not working?

nikhil · 8 · 10963

nikhil

• View Profile
Hi,

I setup my BLE shield and uploaded the sample code from http://tiny-circuits.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/BGLib_stub_slave_rev2.zip onto the TinyDuino. The LED on it is flashing green about once every second, which according to the code means that it is advertising. However here starts my problem - none of my devices can see the BLE shield. I scanned for bluetooth devices using my laptop and samsung S4 phone - neither see it. I would have thought this should be pretty straight forward, but I am a BLE and Arduino novice.

To set this up, I stacked the TinyDuino, the BLE shield one on top of the other. I topped the stack off with a proto board where I connected a 3V supply between VBatt and GND. Prior to this I had uploaded the demo code onto the TinyDuino. The system is being powered by a 3V DC power supply.

Nikhil

LtMerlin

• View Profile
Same problem here... have the bluetooth LE rev 2 board, uploaded the sketch successfully from the learn section. Status led blinks but i can't discover the device...
Any ideas or tutorials?

nikhil

• View Profile
I have not figured this out as yet - I drifted onto something else but hope to come back soon. However, here are somethings that I found out in the meantime that may help:

1) Samsung Galaxy S4's BTLE does not work. There is a huge thread about this on their forums. However there appears to be a Samsung BTLE SDK that maybe worth trying. I however do not know whether the problems people were reporting were also present when using the Samsung SDK, though I speculate that is not the case as that would be totally brain dead on Samsungs part.
2) Apparently the phone to do BTLE work with is the iPhone. If you look virtually none of the commercially available BTLE devices support android or atleast support android out of the door. That is telling. But having said that I was not able to get an iOS device detect the TinyDuino BTLE either.